Chip Tune of the Week: M.C Kids (NES)

03Feb10

I know what you’re thinking: “I didn’t made a game about young hip-hop producers for the NES!?!?” and unfortunately, I think that would be a more interesting premise for this game, almost as entertaining as a Making the Band video game featuring Sean “Puffy” Combs. MC Kids is a boring platformer for the NES loosely based on characters of the McDonald’s restaurant. The game totally rips off the mario format (although that argument could be made for practically every platformer of the 8 and 16-bit generations) and sort of pulls it off in the context of the time.

That being said, the only reason I chose to include Level 2 of MC Kids is because it bears a striking resemblance to a song produced by a local electronica band whose members I happen to be friends with. Now I hate electronica, as I have told my electro-inclined brethren ad nauseum, but I do have a special place in my heart for all the bleeps and blurts of old gaming music.

So, without adieu, level 2 of the infamous corporate shit-pile that is M.C Kids:

filed by Drew.

No Responses Yet to “Chip Tune of the Week: M.C Kids (NES)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

